top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Mae'r neidiau yn ôl - The Jumps are back!

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

Something different right for a headline to this blog? Don't worry, my laptops not started working in another language and if your Welsh then hopefully you'll be able to understand it, for those of you like me who don't I put the translation next to it to help.


But if you haven't heard already, either because you've not been reading my past few blog pieces, I would highly recommend you check them out by the way, or you've been living under a rock, the jumps season gets going again this Friday with a visit to the Welsh town of Chepstow.


I'll save you another Welsh lesson though, and get into the preview because I'm sure plenty of you reading this are already confused enough so, let's get back to what I know and try and find the winners.


The opening race of Friday's meeting is a Class four Novices' Hurdle and it's an intriguing contest considering what the winner went on to do last year.


Last year it was won by Flic Ou Voyou for Harry Cobden and Paul Nicholls and even though he never fulfilled his potential, he still ended the season being rated 135 and Knappers Hill represents that duo again here and could be hard to beat.


There isn't much depth to it again, with most of these tackling obstacles for the first time, Pikar for the Skeltons will possibly need the run like most of his horses have appeared to need so far, but I would like to think he's the each-way shout to the race, Earth Business could also have a say if he settles better but I don't really see much else getting involved here.


Race two is a Class two Novices' Chase, and despite it being a four runner field, I think we have a useful prospect thrown in here.


Threeunderthrufive was brilliant over hurdles last year, and I think he'll have no problems over the larger fences this time and should take all the stopping for Cobden and Nicholls.


From last year's race the horse that went on to have the better season was the horse that finished second in Enrilo.


This horse was last seen being first past the post at Sandown but lost it in the stewards room after impeding the 2nd and 3rd horse massively.


He was rated 143 and Ask Dillon and Does He Know will ask him some serious questions here hopefully, but even if he does get beat, I think he's a novice to keep a close eye on this winter.


Race number three on the card is a chance for some of the old timers to have a go over fences, with Leg 7 of the Veterans' Handicap Chase taking place here.


Geordie Des Champs has looked as good as ever this summer with two wins at Ffos Las and this mark is still workable off, but I'm going for some each-way money here in Vieux Lion Rouge who is like a fine wine and seems to get better with age, his early price of 10/1 is almost laughable at with what his record is like fresh and the fact he won this race back in 2019 off only 1lb higher.


He's the value in the race, while Vivas could run well if he manages to find a way to complete the course even though I think that is unlikely and he is a massive risk.


The fourth race is the Grade two Persian War for novice hurdlers, and this is an exciting contest to preview.


Paso Doble travelled really well on his first outing over hurdles at Kempton in the Adonis and he looked like winner to me for a long time before not being able to match the front two and finishing third.


He won next time out and has been kept back for another winter jumps campaign this year, and we all know how Cobden and Nicholls got on here last season and by the quality of horses they have out, they could easily repeat that.


First Street lacks fluency in the jumping department and that could cost him here at this higher level while Coeur Serein completed the hat-trick at Huntingdon in May off a mark of 132 but just doesn't appeal to me here.


I think Paso Doble should win and I fancy Up for Parol to follow him home while keeping an eye on the expensive Skelton newcomer Hidden Heroics who will have a big race in him at some point.


The fifth race is a Handicap Hurdle, and I've narrowed this down to three horses who I think should be involved in one way or another.


Cabot Cliffs has a mark that looks like it is just beyond him at the minute, but if he settles or even sticks to his headstrong front running tactics, he could find himself building up a lead on a track which should suit him.


Caldwell has each-way value for the Scudamores, while the horse I really like is Casa Loupi for the Moores who is my selection here because I think the mark suggests he has plenty more to come from it judging back his runs last season.


I'm going to fly through these last two races because they are extremely hard to work out what could win it without knowing where the market support could go.


Race six could go to Runwiththetide for the Skeltons as long as she doesn't need the run, while the final race of the day is anyone's but I like how Kevin Brogan rides so I'll go with Ready and Able.


So day one done, hopefully plenty of winners there and I've even taught you some Welsh along the way, well google translate did but, I'll catch you in the day two preview where hopefully we can also be successful there.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page