top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Cheltenham Festival Day Two Preview - Bravemansgame, an Unexpected Party and a Tiger on a roll

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

Day one done, onto day two, my notebook is packed full of my fancied runners once more so let's get stuck into my previews on each race.


Race one - 13:30pm Ballymore Novices' Hurdle Grade 1 2m 5f (9 runners)


He could well be another banker for your week here, and Sir Gerhard's opening price of 8/11 suggests the bookies are scared of this too.


A £400,000 purchase for Willie Mullins, this seven-year-old won the Champion Bumper here last season, and is two from two over hurdles this campaign, with a Grade one success at Leopardstown coming last time out.


The trip might have only been two miles and this is obviously further, but he still cruised clear of his market rival in this race Three Stripe Life to beat him by six lengths.


I think he's tricky to beat, but I have found one or two rivals who could have a say in it still.


Journey With Me does have a bit to find on the favourite, but has looked really good for Rachel Blackmore and Henry De Bromhead so far this season.


We also know that this horse stays the trip after winning over 2m 4f, and he does have potential to give Sir Gerhard something to think about.


My each way shout in this race though is the Paul Nicholls trained Stage Star, who is three from three over hurdles, and took the Challow Hurdle at Newbury last time in impressive fashion.


That form might not be as strong as what Sir Gerhard obviously has under his belt, but we also know that he does this stay this trip so there is no negatives for him, and he's not finished improving yet either.


Overall, I think Sir Gerhard could well get your Tuesday off to a flier, but I do like the look of Stage Star who should have a decent chance of getting placed, if not better in this contest.


Race two - 14:10pm Brown Advisory Novices' Chase Grade 1 3m (11 runners)


Bravemansgame is four from four over fences this season, and has been impeccable so far.


His jumping is pin point accurate, and his ability to gallop some of his rivals so far into submission has been mightily impressive.


Paul Nicholls knows the step up to 3m is not a problem for him, and he beat rival Ahoy Senor by 7 1/2 lengths when they met in the Grade 1 around Kempton, meaning another similar showing would probably see him win again here.


L'homme Presse is probably going to go under the radar in this race, quite simply because he might not be talked about as much as the other two.


He has been really consistent so far this season, and looks as though he is just going to keep on improving for Venetia Williams, and despite obviously having to find something extra to be able to compete with the favourite, there's nothing to suggest that he won't.


I was up at Carlisle that day when Ahoy Senor made his seasonal reappearance over fences for the first time, and he unseated Derek Fox when looking beaten which didn't really catch the eye.


He has been better since that though, with two wins and a second to Bravemansgame, and we know for a fact that he's going to stay because he's proven that so far as well.


I don't think he was at his best when he got beat at Kempton, and I have to be a very brave man indeed to select him, but that's what I'm going to do.


I think it will all click for him here, I'm crossing my fingers of course but I know fine well that the favourite is really hard to beat.


Race three - 14:50pm Coral Cup Handicap Hurdle Grade 3 2m 5f (28 runners)


Just the 28 runners here to deal with, I know I know, I should've gone through each and every one in detail but...


My fancy here is Unexpected Party for the Skeltons, who runs off 11st exactly after being raised 12lbs for his recent facile success at Ascot.


At 9/1 he carries an each way price, as you would expect in these big field handicaps, but I just think he's still on a very fair mark and the pace should suit him and they do like him a lot about home.


Another I like the look of is the six-year-old lightly raced Indigo Breeze who will be suited with the step up in trip, and runs off 10st 9 because Jordan Gainford takes off a useful 3lbs.


It's very wide open though, so if you have a fancy of your own don't be swayed by my two, they are just the ones that I'll be going for.


Race four - 15:30pm Queen Mother Champion Chase Grade 1 1m 7f (8 runners)


The rematch, the race everyone will have their eyes on, the most talked about one of the week, it's Shishkin vs Energumene II, Cheltenham edition.


Shishkin is now the perfect seven from seven, and despite looking in danger last time out against Energumene, he battled on strongly, and lead close home to run down the long time leader.


I think this time around he doesn't do that though, and Energumene reverses the form around.


He battled really hard out in front that day when he could've done with getting a lead into the race, and he still looked the winner going into the last, he just didn't find as much as Shishkin did, and perhaps got caught a little flat footed.


At 7/2, I do really like him, and I'm glad that Paul Townend has stuck with him over Chacun Pour Soi, who could also cause problems for the top two if he's near his best, it's a big if though, with his form over here not great.


My each way shout is Nube Negra, mainly because he would've won this race last year if getting a smoother passage at the finish.


The race is far stronger this time around, and he will need to really be at his very best and probably even better than that if he wants to beat the top two, but I think he could get placed at 12/1, and has bags of speed and a great record fresh, but Energumene to beat Shishkin is my main one here.


Race five - 16:10pm Cross Country Chase Class 2 3m 6f (16 runners)


Tiger Roll might not be National bound, and this might be the last time we see the three time cross country winner on the track, but it would be fitting for him to go out on a win.


Davy Russell is on board, and this 12-year-old can have a line put all his form this season again, mainly because he did the same last year then bolted up here.


At 7/4 he's very solid and is my main selection for this race, just because he is such a crowd favourite and it would be great to see him get his head in front one last time.


An EW shout here is Prengarde, available at 15/2, because this six-year-old has won before over the cross country in France, and was given a run for his new stable on debut last month.


Enda Bolger trains, and Mark Walsh rides, and this young contender might just have youth on his side here and that's how I see him beating Tiger Roll.


Race six - 16:50pm Grand Annual Handicap Chase Grade 3 1m 7f (21 runners)


Sky Pirate did me a big favour in this race last season, and I'm backing him to go close again off 4lbs higher.


16/1 is similar to his price last year, and he's shown he is still in great heart this season of a very high mark, but he has dropped 3lbs since the start, and could be primed for another good go at this again.


He's my pick, but I think For Pleasure could also run a really big race from the front for Alex Hales and Harry Bannister.


He's quirky, and his jumping is ponderous at times, but he can be hard to peg back sometimes, and it might just happen again here, he's opened at 25/1.


Race seven - 17:30pm Champion Bumper Grade 1 2m (22 runners)

Which Irish horse is going to win this race I hear you ask?


Then I hear you ask which Willie Mullins horse wins? To that I reply, I'm not entirely sure he does.


Jamie Codd has spoke nothing but praise for his mount American Mike, and the 'Codfather' doesn't usually get much wrong, especially in the bumper.


It's very very competitive as always in the bumper, and we don't really know where these horses stand so early on into their careers.


Facile Vega and Redemption Day for Willie Mullins look very classy indeed, but I'll still with mine at 5/2 and just sit back and enjoy this race to be honest, because anyone can usually win these.


Enjoy day two, and don't blame me again if they don't win, they're just my predictions.


I'm off now though to look through day three, non-stop I know!




28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page