top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Cheltenham Day Three Preview - Mighty Potter and the case of the Cheltenham hill

Updated: Mar 28, 2023

A Harry Potter mention in the headline, how creative, definitely didn't take me half an hour to think of either!


We're over half way there now anyways everyone, you don't have to put up with me for much longer, until Aintree.


Two days down, and two more to go, day three is upon on us, selections are down below...


1:30pm Turners Novices' Chase 2m 3f 9 runners


One over the larger obstacles to get thing rolling, for the first time this week as well, as Tuesday and Wednesday both started with the Supreme and the Ballymore.


This favourite Mighty Potter is very solid I'll be honest, and I like what I've seen from him so far this season since going chasing.


At 6/5 he seems good value as well, because I think he hasn't stopped improving yet either, Banbridge and Appreciate It both have El Fabiolo form, Tuesday's Arkle winner, which makes them interesting, but I don't think they have shown enough to suggest they beat Mighty Potter.


Each way wise I'll be having a little on Balco Coastal who hasn't done much wrong over fences, and at 11/1 he might run in for a place hopefully.


2:10pm Handicap Hurdle 2m 7f 24 runners


Back to hurdles, and a tasty looking handicap here to go through.


Now not to show off or anything but, I did tip the winner of this race last year at 33/1 in my blog, but Third Wind won on the day at 25/1 so, I'm hoping for a repeat success, he says with optimism.


An Tailleur rattled off a five timer last season, and returning off the back of a break after a good third here last time, he could be dangerous.


11/1 seems very reasonable so he's one for the each way shouts, and I'll also Glimpse of Gala in the mix at 33/1, mainly because he has been on a roll, but the price of 33/1 matches what I did in the race in 2022 so, the signs are there I think.


2:50pm Ryanair Chase 2m 4f 9 runners


Shishkin wins, lets move on. You still have that bit in the back of your mind about whether he's as solid as he once was, but I can answer that question for you right now, he's definitely not.


To come back from his injury has been incredible, and there's point suggesting he isn't fragile because I think that's what he is, but the talent he possesses is exceptional still, and on his day he will walk this I feel.


In case that doesn't go to plan, odds of 5/6 when writing as well, I'll also go with Ga Law at each way.


This horse looked the winner at Doncaster when falling at the last, but he won the Paddy Power Gold Cup before it so, on that form, at 25/1, he could have a say here.


3:30pm Stayers Hurdle 2m 7f 11 runners


This division has been wide open all year long, and I'm still not sure what wins this race.


I like Teahupoo though, because he has been solid all season, but I'm wary of the threat that Blazing Khal poses here as well.


There's no reason why last year's winner Flooring Porter can't get back to form either, and Home by the Lee can't be written off, so that's why it is so hard to pick one out.


The each way shout is Paisley Park who will give his usual running at 16/1, but I'm going to stick with Teahupoo at 4/1, and hope he keeps up his excellent form and strike in the stayers.

4:10pm Handicap Chase 2m 4f 26 runners


Return of the handicap, part two, the favourite So Scottish looks set right up for this race I'm not going to lie.


Opening at 4/1, that seems very fair for him, and the form he's in, and representing a top trainer in Emmet Mullins who knows how to get one right for a big race, he is the one to beat.


Not my selection though, I like one or two others who I just can't not put up.


Midnight River has looked really mature over fences this term, and that win here on New Year's Day confirmed the promise from his Paddy Power Gold Cup run.


This horse is usually a solid jumper, and travels into his races well and finds plenty when needing to, 10/1 is nice for an each way bet.


Datsalrightgino is just below him in the market at 12/1 and is my other shout for this race.


Very consistent over these obstacles, and should give himself another good account here.


4:50pm Mares' Novices' Hurdle 2m 21 runners


Luccia will be hard to beat here, in fact, could even be impossible.


That's not true of course because anything can happen, but she is really talented, and I feel like she can finish off a good first season with this prize.


13/8 is fine, but I still want one with some value as well so I've put up the superstar stayer from the flat Princess Zoe at 16/1 to nick a place and get some each way money.


Lot of Joy is the danger due to how much she improved last time up to win, and with further improvement on the cards, she can give Luccia a good battle.


You Wear It Well might also run a good race, but I'm sticking with Luccia.

5:30pm Kim Muir Chase 3m 2f 26 runners


We start with a chase, and end one, how lucky are we?


This race is open, that's the first time I think I've said it this year, I said it a lot last time because I really didn't have a clue, so the same applies here.


I don't know how this one will play out, but I watched Beauport win at Carlisle at the start of the season so, he's my pick at 10/1.


He's not been at his best on his last two runs, but I hope he'll bounce back in this contest.


Another one for you here at a much bigger price is Fontaine Collonges who didn't quite stay in the Grand National trial, and this drop back down in trip could unlock a performance that could get him in the places.


A reminder of my selections down below:


1:30pm - Mighty Potter 6/5, Balco Coastal 11/1

2:10pm - An Tailleur 11/1, Glimpse of Gala 33/1

2:50pm - Shishkin 5/6, Ga Law 25/1

3:30pm - Teahupoo 4/1, Paisley Park 16/1

4:10pm - Midnight River 10/1, Datsalrightgino 12/1

4:50pm - Luccia 13/8, Princess Zoe 16/1

5:30pm - Beauport 10/1, Fontaine Collonges 33/1

46 views0 comments
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • Soundcloud
  • Spotify

©2020 by Burrows Blogs. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page