top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Cheltenham Day Four Preview - Handicap plot jobs, and who's going to have that golden touch?

Updated: Mar 28, 2023

The final day everyone, wow that's gone quick hasn't it? Only seemed like yesterday that we were cheering home the winner of the Supreme!


Well all roads have led to this, the Cheltenham Gold Cup day, I'm going to try my best to give you the winner of it, but as always, no promises.


I've had a good week, enjoyed all the quality action, and picked out some winners along the way, now let us round it off in style should we?


1:30pm Triumph Hurdle 2m 15 runners


We started yesterday with fences, its back to hurdles for the final day, normal service resumed should I say.


Interesting race for sure, but I liked Lossiemouth before she even jumped a hurdle this season, and she has done nothing but fuel my confidence all year round.


Last time she was just massively unfortunate, and I think she'll get day four off to a flier here, and get the favourite backers going.


She's the main pick at a nice 7/4, while stablemate Zenta still looks a work in progress at the minute, but has been winning so, at 16/1 I think that makes her a good each way shout.


2:10pm County Handicap Hurdle 28 runners


Find the horses that have been laid out for this race everyone, it really is that simple, oh wait, Cheltenham is the target for all these horses, well that messes up that plan.


I do think Pembroke didn't quite stay two and half miles last time, and this drop back in trip on handicap debut could make him a real solid player here.


At 10/1 I'll take the chance, mainly because the Skeltons always have one ready to go well in this and have an excellent strike rate.


I've got two others to note here as well, and they are Ballyadam who has been brought on slowly this season so could be targeting this, and Petit Tonnerre, who hasn't hit top gear so far this campaign, but could still be worth a go at each way prices.


Both are available at 25/1 at time of writing.


2:50pm Novices' Hurdle (Spa) 2m 7f 20 runners


Another large field before we get onto the big one, I like the second favourite Corbetts Cross at 9/2 for this.


This horse has been bought by JP McManus ahead of the Festival, and seems as though he could well be up for winning a race of this calibre.


In search of a four timer as well, he gets my vote to beat the favourite Three Card Brag, while for an each way one I'll stick with the Irish and go for Monty's Star at 20/1.

3:30pm Gold Cup 3m 2f 13 runners


Now it's time to put my money where my mouth is, the big one we've waited all week for, the Gold Cup.


For me, the favourite could we be unstoppable here, and I'm fully aware just how good he is, but I'm going to take him on to keep it interesting.


Bravemansgame was one of my horses to follow again this campaign, and this horse continues to boggle my mind he really does.


He is very good, but I'm still not sure if he finds a great deal when he comes off the bridle, and when your in a race like this you need to be able to change the gears.


That doesn't make him have no chance though, he jumps well and might well answer that question with flying colours, and I'll keep the faith again because he hasn't shown me a reason this season to not back him.


He's up at 13/2, and I also like Protektorat who ran very well in the race last year and might've finished second with a better jump at the last.


The more rain the better for him as well, because even though he didn't show up at Cheltenham last time he ran, he was always staying on that day, and with a bit of extra work in him he's as good as most of these so at 14/1 I'll take the each way price.


One more I've shortlisted is Ahoy Senor, because whenever I write this horse off he comes back and wins so, I'm going to write him off in the sense that he might win by me doing it, and at 18/1 he should run well enough.


Galopin Des Champs is the one to beat, I know that, and it will be extremely hard, but I'm not sure yet whether he will stay further than 3m, mainly because he hasn't ran this far yet.


That's where he is obviously vulnerable, and if that can be exploited then he could find himself in trouble, but that's a big if of course.

4:10pm Hunters Chase 3m 2f 24 runners


I'm taking a chance again in this race with Famous Clermont, who can let himself down in the jumping department from time to time, to say the least, but at 7/1 and still looking as though he was improving when he won last time out, he's my selection.


For a bigger price, I like Dorking Cock, who just got caught by the favourite Vaucelet last time out, and should give another bold showing at 20/1.


Billaway is out again to try and recreate last year's heroics, but I'm just not sure if he's in the same form as he was 12 months ago, but I might be proven wrong.


He's still hard to dismiss completely, while Chris's Dream could also run well if retaining any of his ability.


4:50pm Mares' Chase 2m 4f 9 runners


Over to the females now, and I'll switch it up a bit here, and start with the each way.


Elimay won this race last season, and hasn't been firing this campaign, but at 20/1 I can't ignore her, and would like to think she could run into a place at least.


Impervious is my pick though, at 11/4 second favourite, I think she'll get the better of the favourite Allegorie De Vassy, who is an exciting prospect, but hasn't entirely convinced me fully yet.


She'll be hard to beat though still, and has so much raw talent, but I'm hoping for a big run from my girl here.


5:30pm Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle 2m 4f 26 runners


Final race time of Cheltenham 2023, and it's the usual Martin Pipe Handicap Hurdle.


Always competitive, and always filled with plenty of chances, can I find my way through them all though that's the question?


Might I for me has been very consistent at this distance, and clearly suits it more than the longer trips he's tried, and at 12/1, I'm hoping he's ready to win a race like this.


For one at a larger price, I'll put up Mark of Gold who should go well at 25/1, and will have no problems with the distance.


Spanish Harlem is the one they have to beat I think, he has been frustrating, but his yard won this in 2021 with Galopin Des Champs so, they know how to win this, and Willie Mullins always has his horses ready, that is a fact.


A reminder of all my selections below:

1:30pm - Lossiemouth 7/4, Zenta 16/1

2:10pm - Pembroke 10/1, Ballyadam 25/1, Petit Tonnerre 25/1

2:50pm - Corbetts Cross 9/2, Monty's Star 20/1

3:30pm - Bravemansgame 13/2, Protektorat 14/1, Ahoy Senor 18/1

4:10pm - Famous Clermont 7/1, Dorking Cock 20/1

4:50pm - Impervious 11/4, Elimay 20/1

5:30pm - Might I 12/1, Mark of Gold 25/1


28 views0 comments
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • Soundcloud
  • Spotify

©2020 by Burrows Blogs. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page