top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Cartmel Preview: Hatcher could make it a ‘manic Monday’ for the bookies

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

“It’s just another manic Monday” was the opening line of the chorus in the hit song Manic Monday for a band called The Bangles in the 1980’s, and I think that sums up how the bookies could be viewing the card at Cartmel with good favourites lined up left, right and centre to give them a bashing.


Saturday was an ok day for me, but I always want to do better, and for this card I could just quite simply sit here and tell you to back all the favourites like a boring person, but where’s the fun in that?


I’ll do my best to mix some solid favourites with horses that represent good each-way value but my message for you throughout this preview is simple, if you back the favourites I don’t really think you can go wrong.


The opening contest of the day is similar to the one on Saturday there, where I think it’s a straight up duel between Bardenstown Lad and Zafar.


Bardenstown Lad was impressive at Wexford on his first outing over hurdles for John McConnell, and a slight drop back in trip isn’t a concern at all as he looks to make it a follow up success.


Zafar though looked decent when winning at Uttoxeter, running on late in the day to catch the long time leader Percy’s Word, who has won at Stratford since may I add, and backed it up last time when being narrowly denied at Bangor.


Abbie McCain is very useful for her 5lb claim here, and it could come in handy again because off equal weights I’d slightly be favouring with Sean Bowen’s mount, but with that five pound difference I’m not too sure.


The winner is definitely coming from one of these two so forecast wise that would be my bet here, I have to pick one of the two for win purposes though and I’ll shy away from being just a favourite backer and side with Zafar who doesn’t really have to improve much at all to take this contest.


Race two on the card is one of those Handicap Hurdle's for you to get stuck into and I'll just keep things simple here because it's wide open.


Native Fighter has good course form here for James Moffatt and looks ready for yet another big run at the track this season and will go close.


Eyeofthescorpion battled on well last time to score at Bangor and still looks to be on a workable mark which could see him give another good account of himself here.


Justatenner also has course and distance form and looks on a good enough mark to compete here and offers some brilliant each-way money so to stop me being boring I'll take the opening price of 17/2 and give this as my each-way selection.


Race three on the card is the most valuable race of the day with £11,000 going to the winner in this Class 2 Handicap Chase.


I’ll be honest, Hatcher is my best bet of the day here purely because even with having to carry top weight of 11st 12 he still should have the beating of these.


He’s a horse who just quite simply loves summer jumping and he won with plenty in hand at Stratford last time out, despite pitching at two out and almost coming down, the 7lb rise is fair and the Skeltons don’t make many trips up Cartmel so, an opening price of 2/1 seems very nice because I think he’ll be much shorter when they line up to race.


Let’s talk about some of the others though, because it’s only fair, Ming Dynasty has won his last two for Brian Ellison and he’s well weighted again here for a big run.


Of course he’s going to have to take another step forward but in this field he looks like the only one likely to so he’s definitely not without a chance.


Play the Game has looked out of sorts this campaign, and despite stringing together a few fourths he could find this hard to deal with again.


There’s a chance he might bounce back though, so is dangerous to rule out completely and it wouldn’t be a complete shock to me if he turns up and wins it.


Dino Velvet looked useful when he opened his chasing account in impressive style, and it’s right to think that the run nine days after that success came too soon for him so shouldn’t be taken into consideration here.


He’s one for the shortlist and could feature in the finish if he builds on that opening victory.

My final mention has to go to Tonto’s Spirit here who loves Cartmel and loves jump racing in the summer.


With his regular pilot Connor O’Farrell on board it would be silly to dismiss this course legend out of it and if he can dominate from the front he’s always a danger around here.


I’ll stick with my firm choice of Hatcher though and would be shocked if anything can beat him, Tonto’s Spirit could give him a run for his money if all is well and he’s back on song.


The fourth race could be tricky, but by now the bookies could well be on the ropes so why not give them another kick whilst they are down?


Dressedforsuccess has looked unstoppable over course and distance this season for the talented jockey Charlotte Jones, winning three times this summer at the track, and we all know James Moffatt loves a good winner at his local track so this horse might have plenty of improvement left yet, and is tipped to make it four in a row.


Get out the Gate could be the danger alongside Fred the foot, while old boy Sub Lieutenant who was a class act in his day can’t be entirely ruled out, but they all need to find something in order to beat this progressive winner, and I can’t really find anything to suggest they will.


Another Handicap Chase? Go on then if you must.


Race five sees Minella Trump who has taken well to fences this term, take on some more experienced rivals in Solar Impulse and Pink Eyed Pedro here, but this favourite could be hard to beat again.


He still looks very well treated for the McCain-Hughes partnership and despite needing to take another step forward against these rivals, there’s no reason to suggest he can’t do it.


Solar Impulse might put his experience to good use here under Liam Harrison and could follow up his Perth success with another bold showing.


Brotherly Company only holds each-way claims for me, mainly because I think the handicapper does have his number, while Pink Eyed Pedro also looks like an each-way only shout off a huge top weight.


Elmono has my nickname in it though so I’ll have to back it each-way despite not being overly confident in it, but I’ll go with Solar Impulse here just because it doesn’t make me look boring and gets me away from telling you another favourite will probably win.


We’re back to hurdles for the final two races on the card and the sixth race is Juvenile Hurdle which only has four runners in it.


Sacred Pierre ran well to win on debut for Brian Hughes and Donald McCain and despite being another favourite, I have to tell you that this horse will also be very hard to beat.


So Savvy looks more of a long term project in this field and will more than likely have him stamina stretched so, there’s one horse not to worry about.


The other two in The Bravest and Forever Forward could both be progressive types, and they'll have to be if they want to beat the favourite, so I'll take a chance with Forever Forward under Daryl Jacob mainly because he could be useful for all we know.


Race seven on the card is an open Handicap Hurdle race to bring to an end Cartmel's 2021 season, and I'll just keep things simple again because these races can be really tricky to pick apart.


Keeper Chris is lightly raced and will go very close in this race so is my final selection here, I hope you all have a successful time again and have plenty of winners and enjoy as always!

21 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page