top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Burrows Babblings Part 30 - A fret to Pep, a stop to Klopp, and the horse with the golden touch

I'm fully aware that the blog post last week was more based on horse racing, and for you fans of the sport that is great, but I'm also aware in the round object game that there's also a few stories that are worthwhile looking at right now.


Just to briefly mention some of the horse racing from the weekend before I dive into a deeper focus and look at some of those footballing stories, Galopin Des Champs did exactly what he needed to do in the Irish Gold Cup, stay the trip.


That does set him up nicely now for Cheltenham, but I wouldn't be writing off the second placed Stattler just yet, who also stayed on really well and the hill at the festival could suit him nicely.


It's always a pleasure as well to see Honeysuckle race, especially now as we don't know when her last race might be, who knows Sunday's run could've been it.


She put up a battling performance to finish second to the impressive State Man who is now on course for his clash with Constitution Hill next month in the Champion Hurdle, and I for one cannot wait for it, bring it on I say.


I will say that Facile Vega flopped badly, but I don't think the race was run to suit and we will know more about how good he is come Cheltenham, although I have had my doubts about him for a while now.


Time to move into football now then, and with Sean Dyche winning his first Everton game in charge against Arsenal, it opened the door for Manchester City to step up and close the gap on the league leaders.


However, the curse of Tottenham struck them, and struck them hard, Harry Kane with the only goal which took him top of the all-time leading score charts for 'Spurs', and gave them three points.


Pep Guardiola's City though haven't looked the same beast at all this season, I'm not Pep so I couldn't tell you the reason why for but it's clear for everyone to see.


The financial fair play breaches which have come out on the day I'm writing this are very concerning for the club, over 100 breaches over a four year period which doesn't paint a pretty picture at all, especially when there's this lull as well with how they are playing.


To sit here and say they don't have the quality is just not true, that side there is more than capable of winning every trophy that they can possibly win, on paper, and that's the key point I feel in this situation that they are in.


On paper, they are a ridiculously strong side with so much depth, but it's the team spirit that matters in a team and how they gel together, not about how much money you spend.


Of course quality is quality, and when you bring in the quality that they have over the past few seasons it does allow them to turn up and just batter some sides through that quality.


But I feel football is all about heart at times, and who wants to win it more and who the game matters to most, and that bunch of players look as though they are just going through the motions and not quite sure on what they want to do.


Kevin De Bruyne is a superb footballer, for me he's in the top three midfielders in all of world football currently easily, and he can just flick the switch and produce these moments of magic from absolutely nothing, but have they got to the point where they are relying on him too much?


The loss to Tottenham is a body blow that would've been hard to get up from, but to then be hit by this seemingly knockout punch from the Premier League over their breach of FFP heaps even more pressure on the club.


A quick jump over to the only side that has been able to match them in recent seasons now in Liverpool, and Jurgen Klopp isn't experiencing any clear sailing across the River Mersey that's for sure!


Liverpool this season for me always had the feel that it was about transition and looking at a squad that maybe wasn't focused on what was in front of them now but down the line instead.


Two players they have brought in Darwin Nunez and Cody Gakpo fit that mould perfectly, both still finding their feet in the Premier League, the latter seemingly not having as long as the other just yet, but both players for the future of the club.


Has the fire that burned so fiercely inside in the bellies of all the Liverpool players in recent seasons been extinguished? Quite possible it has, but Klopp for me is the only person who can help them rediscover that.


Like City they have been at the top of their game for a while now, and if they didn't have City to contend with they would have won a few trophies along the way, so there's always going to be a dip at some point, and I'm not just talking a small one, because there's always a point where there needs to be a transition period.


Both clubs are doing exactly that for me, and Liverpool themselves still created plenty of chances against my side Wolves on Saturday, they just couldn't put them away and made that awfully slow start, but credit where credit is due Wolves took their chances and were excellent throughout the game I felt, a real change in atmosphere around the ground since the new manager has arrived.


Craig Dawson is a very shrewd signing, and gives that experience to the defence that Wolves were missing when they played Collins and Kilman together.


Nothing against either of those two players but, they just needed that experienced defender there to help guide them through some games, and Dawson did exactly that on Saturday, even scoring.


But the club has also had a transition since Nuno left, it's taken time but they might have finally cracked the code I feel, well hopefully anyways.


Pep and Klopp will do just that, if given the chance, but sport can be cruel at times and unforgiving, and there's no guarantees to any of that.


So Pep is fretting, and there's been a stop to Klopp's mentality monsters, Galopin Des Champs might have the golden touch after all, and I'm still trying to work out when it becomes evening, sounds like a lot going on.


In all honesty though I found myself refereeing on Saturday up at Workington, so missed out on anything from the Fylde away game at Otley, but turned my phone once I got in the car to frantically check the score and see they had been edged out 28-27, heartbreak to say the least.


A big one this weekend against Preston Grasshoppers, who doesn't love a derby day? I'll be there as usual for what will be a really good game I think, hope that frost that I was greeted with on Monday morning though stays away unlike last time.


With being from Cumbria I feel it's part of our growing up experience that we learn how to deal with the cold, I mean I think it's a thing for the whole of the UK to be honest but, I always remember this game I touch judged a few years ago now at Kells and we had every bit of weather possible that day I think.


It was like we were playing weather bingo or something, first the sun was out shining, then it became overcast and started to hailstone, before returning to sunshine and then later on raining.


To add to all this it was played on the edge of a cliff, a lovely scenic view though might I add, but that day it was absolutely freezing and I still can't remember another time in my life where I had been that cold, ever.


I don't and never have wore any skins either by the way, not because I don't get cold or anything I just never have so I'm not going to start now, not going to look like I'm going soft at my old age now am I?


Anyways, that brings an end to this weekly blog piece, I'll put my running earphones back on and get back out there to sunny Preston and leave you all in peace until the next one.


Is it sunglasses weather? Absolutely not, I'll be wearing my hat thank you very much...


26 views0 comments
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • Soundcloud
  • Spotify

©2020 by Burrows Blogs. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page