top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Burrows Babblings Part 27 - More running, interviews, and... Christmas decorations?

Updated: Feb 1, 2023

Welcome as always to the blog piece, are we all well?


I'll tell you now, I ran my first park run on Saturday around Millom and as previously mentioned I do as much running as I possibly can, within reason, and I think that's the hardest and most rewarding 5K I've ever ran, so I definitely wasn't after that!


No it was good though, I've attached a screenshot from Strava just to prove it because if it isn't on Strava then it didn't happen.

That's not to show off, I promise, I was lapped doing that park run and it was only five laps so I can tell you for definite that is no world record.


But it was a new personal best so, over the past few weeks I've had a personal best across a 5K, 10K and a half marathon, we know where this is going to now don't we? Well, you do if you know your running, I'll explain though.


Full marathon is next on the to do list, 26.2 miles staring me directly in the face now and taunting me to do it so, it's time to start planning and training for one of them I think.


Time now though to move away from running and personal successes, which is usually how I start this blog piece to be honest.


Onto the world of sport, and we've had plenty as always, and you would've watched some of it hopefully, especially as my podcast reminded you.


We'll kick things off with my main focus in that podcast the horse racing.


As expected, we had a few non-runners on the day that were very significant, and it made me slightly disappointed I'll be honest.


I'm not a trainer and do not have the full insight that those people in the sport have, and therefore I am in no place to offer anything on it all really.


Constitution Hill and Edwardstone were the main two at Ascot, and for me you always have to do what is going to be right for the horse at the end of the day, no matter what.


It's different as humans I feel because we can maybe go and run that 5K race whilst struggling a little but for horses they are completely different.


Running on the wrong ground can cause serious problems and that could've been evident after the weekend gone by if they had ran.


I see both sides of the coin, and even though it frustrated me, I had no problem with the fact that it is always down to the horse's safety, because for me it's not about the winners, it's about all of them coming back home safe and sound and it always will be.


Anyways, into the action, I think A Plus Tard has really given us all a headache about what happened to him in the Betfair Chase.


Rachel Blackmore never appeared happy with him at all and she confirmed exactly that after the race and he has now blown that Gold Cup scene wide open.


Before the race I couldn't decide between him and Protektorat, and the latter was always travelling and jumping the better, and when A Plus Tard pulled up there was only ever going to be one winner.


For me though people might overlook this performance and they would be wrong to do so.


Dan Skelton said there was going to be no excuses for this horse on the day as this was his target for the early part of the season, and he proved all the points to be right.


He jumped immaculately down the back on that second circuit and was cruising around, looking like he was going to take control of the race whenever he wanted, and he did going down to four out in the home straight.


Harry Skelton never looked back and guided him to victory, job done, point proven, next stop though, still unknown.


Keep an eye on where he goes next, connections could be tempted to go to the King George but we will just see, we know this horse's main target is the Gold Cup, and his plans are still on track, for A Plus Tard though, it's back to the drawing board.


Time for a break after all that horse racing, my ten top moments below if you missed them...


Ells Ten

1. Rugby League - England men win the wheelchair rugby league final against France 28-24.

2. Football - The football world cup is underway, Ecuador kicking the tournament off with a win over hosts Qatar. England beat Iran 6-2 in their opener.

3. Rugby League - Australia win the men's rugby league world cup 30-10 against Samoa.

4. Horse Racing - Protektorat wins the Betfair Chase, with 2022 Gold Cup winner A Plus Tard pulling up.

5. Formula 1 - Max Verstappen wins the season ending Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi.

6. Darts - Michael Smith wins the Grand Prix, beating Nathan Aspinall.

7. Rugby League - Australia women also win the rugby league world cup, beating New Zealand.

8. Cricket - Australia completed a 2-0 one day series win over England's men.

9. Running - Marathon man Gary McKee has completed his two marathons down in Manchester with Tony Collier and also down in London. Kevin Sinfield also finished his seven ultramarathons in seven days challenge.

10. Snooker - Mark Allen produces a magnificent comeback to win the UK Open.


I paid a visit after my run-on Saturday to Barrow AFC and I feel like I should almost throw a comment in here about what a start to the season they have made, alongside fellow Cumbrians Carlisle.


A comfortable 3-1 over Hartlepool didn't show the performance from my view and in other games this season it hasn't either.


This was a team that was favourites to go down at the start, and Pete Wild has done an excellent job.


They don't do anything difficult though, and that's what I mean about the results not really showing the true story of the game.


It's simple football with a devastating attack which just hurts teams, and they are now 4th in the League Two table, and probably almost safe from relegation already.


I'll mention Carlisle here too, they have also been excellent this season.


Paul Simpson took over there at such a difficult time and what he has managed to do and produce results wise has been superb.


I can't comment on the football they play because I haven't watched them, but it has all the Carlisle fans enjoying being part of the club again and I think they could be on to something special there up the coast.


Coming up on the page this week though I have another interview piece lined up for you all, the podcast as always on Friday, and maybe even more who knows.


That's the interviews bit sorted from the headline so let's do the final one, (checks it one more time), Christmas decorations?


Think I'll finish the piece here to be honest.


No not really, I'm sure your all wanting to hear eagerly about them so I might as well tell you.


First of all though just think about how you spent your Sunday and think to yourself, why didn't I go looking at Christmas decorations like Elliot?


The facts aren't important here let's be honest, everyone has their own preferences when it comes to stuff like this, and I for one couldn't really care less about the matter.


I went to Barton Grange anyways and the display was quite impressive I'll say that, but I can tell you that's the best I've got for you on this one unfortunately, I have ran out of words.


That's a good point to end this piece though, so I'll catch you as always in the same place next week and keep an eye out for more pieces coming out on the page for you.


Right, I'm off to put my Christmas tree up...

20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page