top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Burrows Babblings - Part 1, let's get started

Updated: Feb 1, 2023

Right I know what everyone's thinking, what's going on here? Well this is going to be a weekly blog piece that I'm going to be running this year, discussing all things sport from how my football team is getting on to some of the winter jumps action.


I'll also throw into the mix some of the other sports I have taken in throughout the week, with a look at how the rugby union team that I do match reports for have got on and cover the end of the rugby league season, so without anymore delay, let's get into it.


Bruno had a dream...


An interesting start for Bruno Lage at Wolves to say the least, a new attacking style of football which has seen plenty of chances being created, but not a lot of them being scored.


The close defeats against Leicester Tottenham and Manchester United showed signs of promise and when they put 4-0 past Nottingham Forest in the middle of all those games, not a hard thing to do may I add, I thought that it would've started a goal rush.


A first win in the league came against Watford in what was still far from convincing with two very poor goals being scored, and a week later newly promoted Brentford were showing us how to play football and take chances on our home turf as they swept past us with a 2-0 win.


Tottenham then beat us the Carabao, where for 30 minutes in the game we were non-existent and playing the worst we have played all season so far.


That soon quickly changed and we got it back to 2-2 before going close to winning it late on, and despite losing on penalties, there was plenty of positives to take from the last 60 minutes of the game.


Southampton were next, and it was great to see the 'Mexican Sensation' Raul Jimenez on the scoresheet again and hopefully now we can start rolling.


It's hard to ignore though the lack of backing Bruno got in the transfer window when we clearly needed new players to suit his style of play.


But I suppose that comes off the back of a few pieces of recruitment who still haven't proved their worth just yet, such as Fabio Silva.

A home game against Newcastle this weekend, who are still winless in the league, should give Lage's side another chance to get the shooting boots working, and I'm confident still we will finish mid-table.


Under starters orders


This time next week we'll be getting ready for Chepstow's season opener and once I have the final declarations confirmed they'll be some previews out for it all.


I have already done a piece on some of my horses to follow for the season and if you haven't given that a read and are a big racing fan I suggest you have a look at it.


The first week of the season or should I say this week is always an interesting one, because the big trainers are starting to bring out some of their better horses and it's where everything just starts to get going.


I've already worked out this week who has their horses in form and which trainers are needing to get a run into some of them and this weekend has some decent racing on offer at Fontwell on Saturday before Uttoxeter takes centre stage on the Sunday alongside Kelso.


Even though I won't be doing a full preview on the weekend's action, I'll still be picking out some of my fancies for it all, but obviously this section of the blog will be far more exciting once we've got Chepstow out of the way next week.


Flying Fylde


I've been really enjoying my work with Fylde rugby union at the minute, covering the home matches for the club, and they are still unbeaten so far going into this weekend's tough away trip to Rotherham.


It's nice to see some fellow Cumbrians at the club as well, definitely helps make me feel more at home!


My first experience at The Woodlands was in their pre-season game against Sale FC, who are a division higher than Fylde even though you wouldn't of been able to tell there was a difference in the two at all.


A good opening result away at Tynedale was followed up with a hard fought home win over Loughborough Students and another brilliant performance on the road at Huddersfield made it three from three for the side and put them top of the table.


They really hit top gear against Harrogate last weekend with Tane Bentley scoring a hat-trick on his first start for the club, and hopefully joint coaches Alex Loney and Chris Briers can keep the side going on their good run of form.


'Get them onside'


Rugby league now and it's the semi-final stage in the competition as the race to the grand final reaches its conclusion.


It's Hull KR versus Catalans tonight over in France and Tony Smith's side have had a brilliant season so far, and if they were to beat the French team tonight it would be a great achievement for them.


They definitely deserve it, and despite Catalans being such a strong team who are real title challengers, you can never say never.


Leeds then travel to St Helens on Friday night in another tasty clash and even though I reckon it could be a St Helens vs Catalans final, I also think there's still another twist in the tale and anything is still possible.


I'm also happy to see some of the referees society's taking a stand on referee abuse and it's got to the point where something does need to be done now to produce a better environment for officials to work in.


That's all for this week's piece though, I'll have something out on the weekend's jumps action but apart from that I'll see you all again next week, same time, same place.

33 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page