top of page
  • Writer's pictureElliot Burrow

Burrow's Babblings Aintree Grand National Preview 2022

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

A runner by runner guide to biggest steeplechase in the world which takes place on Saturday afternoon at 5;15pm and is available to watch on ITV.


Minella Times won the race last year, but has to shoulder top weight this time around, and there's no Tiger Roll who has been retired now and will not try and match Red Rum's record of three wins in the race.


All 40 runners talked about, and by the end I'll have a main fancy for you with a couple of each way shouts as well so let's get going because this is going to be a long one.


Oh and I'll be using something similar to last year as to whether I feel they have a chance or not, this time though it'll be called Ell's verdict, and will either say a straight up no, an each way chance or yes...


1. Minella Times - T. Henry de Bromhead J. Rachel Blackmore Ell's verdict: Each way.

Last year's winner who looks to follow in the footsteps of Tiger Roll and the most famous winner of the National of them all in Red Rum, in winning the race back-to-back. The dream team of Blackmore and Bromhead continue to go from strength to strength, and despite having to carry much more weight this time around, we all know that this horse has plenty of positives to him, and I expect him to be bang there again at a good price for the placings at the least.


2. Delta Work - T. Gordon Elliott J. Jack Kennedy Ell's verdict: Each way.

He Beat Tiger Roll at Cheltenham, and as long as that race has not taken too much out of him, I do believe he will go close as well here. He's shown that he has what it takes because he's beaten the two-time winner Tiger Roll and had to battle hard to do so, and he should be another one like Minella Times who's going to be good for the places at least.


3. Easysland - T. Jonjo O'Neill Snr J. Jonjo O'Neill Jnr Ell's verdict: No.

Was useful at one stage in his career, but has lost his way as of late. I don't think there's any reason to suggest he's going to stage a revival here and from my view at least, he's certainly not going to be a contender.


4. Any Second Now - T. Ted Walsh J. Mark Walsh Ell's verdict: Yes.

Impossible to rule out a bold bid from him here, mainly because he was so unlucky in the running last year. He finished third eventually, and beat Escaria Ten last time out which suggests he's in fine order for another crack this time around. He has no negatives attached, and should be taken very seriously.


5. Run Wild Fred - T. Gordon Elliott J. Davy Russell Ell's verdict: Each way.

I tipped him to win at Cheltenham but he was just beaten on the day by a miles better rival, and I have no reason to think he won't run well again here. The issue really is the fact that the Cheltenham race could have taken something out of him, and the truth is we won't know if it has until the race is well underway, so on the form that he has, he's definitely another contender for the places.


6. Lostintranslation - T. Colin Tizzard J. Harry Cobden Ell's verdict: No.

Another horse who can be very useful on his day, but I just don't believe he has what it takes to win a National. He's risky for anyone to back with his recent problems, and whenever I feel as though he's over them he puts in another poor run so I can't see him troubling the places here either.


7. Brahma Bull T. Willie Mullins J. Brian Hayes Ell's verdict: No.

Jumping is the name of the game, especially over this trip, and I think this horse always has at least one mistake in him and you won't get away with it over these fences so, he's a no for me.


8. Burrows Saint T. Willie Mullins J. Paul Townend Ell's verdict: Each way.

I've not said he's got an each way chance because he's got my last name in his title, but because if stays this trip, which at the minute does seem unlikely, he does have a half decent chance. He ran well for a long way last year before proving everyone right and not staying and he could do the same again, but he could also turn that around and stay so he's a shout for the placings I think.


9. Mount Ida T. Gordon Elliott J. Denis O'Regan Ell's verdict: Each way.

The distance is not the problem for this horse, it's the jumping. The only reason I believe she could have a each way possibility is because she will stay all day until the lights go out, but I feel as though she's going to have to jump so much better than she's done in her career so far, because as previously mentioned, these fences are far bigger than the ones in the other chase races she's been running in.


10. Longhouse Poet T. Martin Brassil J. Darragh O'Keeffe Ell's verdict: Yes.

Lots to like about this horse, he won nicely at Gowran before being looked after when beaten over hurdles last time out. He's an exciting eight-year-old who should relish the longer trip, and for me he's one of the leading contenders.


11. Fiddlerontheroof T. Colin Tizzard J. Brendan Powell Ell's verdict: Yes.

I watched Fiddlerontheroof when he won at Carlisle, and I was impressed with the way he battled on all the way to the line, and since that day I've had him down in my notebook as one to keep an eye on. He ran a cracker at Newbury the time after in the Ladbrokes Trophy, where a better jump at the last could've seen him win, and if you thought I liked Longhouse Poet's chance, then I like his even more.


12. Two For Gold T. Kim Bailey J. David Bass Ell's verdict: No.

Has proved he can stay the three mile trip well this term, but still has plenty of questions to answer as to whether he can stay four mile. His jumping could be put to the test, and I don't think he stays this far either so, he's a no for me.


13. Santini T. Polly Gundry J. Nick Schofield Ell's verdict: Each way.

Very classy back in the day, and he's not the force of old, there's no question about that, but he will plod around all day and over four mile it could well suit him because I can't see why he wouldn't stay this far. I'd love to see him run a big race again so, he's an each way shout.


14. Samcro T. Gordon Elliott J. Sean Bowen Ell's verdict: No.

There's nothing for me to see that suggests Samcro is going to threaten the market principles in this race, he could surprise me but he's not one of my fancies.


15. Escaria Ten T. Gordon Elliott J. Adrian Heskin Ell's verdict: Yes.

It's clear to see that this has been his target all season, and he had a good preparation run behind Any Second Now last time out which should mean he's bang up for this. The best pick from Elliott's yard, and I expect him to be one of the leading contenders.


16. Good Boy Bobby T. Nigel Twiston-Davies J. Daryl Jacob Ell's verdict: No.

Daryl Jacob may have picked him over other Munir and Souede runners, and he will definitely run the best I think out of all three of them, but I just don't think the National will suit him, and ultimately could just be too competitive.


17. Lord Du Mesnil T. Richard Hobson J. Kielan Woods Ell's verdict: No.

Similar to Good Boy Bobby, he's a good stayer and jumper on his day, I just think this is too competitive for him, and there's just a few horses better than him. Don't count him out from still running a half decent race still.


18. Coko Beach T. Gordon Elliott J. Sean Flanagan Ell's verdict: No.

This race might just come too early in his career, and I don't think he quite stays this trip as of yet. He could well prove me wrong, but I'm just keeping him in my notebook for other races going forward, not for this one.


19. De Rasher Counter T. Emma Lavelle J. Adam Wedge Ell's verdict: No.

He came back from a long absence last time out, and I'm worried that he might suffer from the bounce effect here, and might also struggle to stay the trip so, he's a no but not entirely a lost hope based on his old form.


20. Kildisart T. Ben Pauling J. James Bowen Ell's verdict: No.

Exactly the same as the horse above, he came back from a long absence last time and I'm not a full believer that he'll stay, another negative is that Jacob hasn't picked him so, he could well be struggling here.

21. Discorama T. Paul Nolan J. Bryan Cooper Ell's verdict: Yes.

A big enough price indeed, but one that I like after watching him run in the race in 2021. I think he's going to take a big step forward from his recent run and put it all together again here for another mighty run, and another plus is that he should be even fitter for it this time. One on my shortlist.


22. Top Ville Ben T. Philip Kirby J. Thomas Dowson Ell's verdict: No.

I've ruled him out on here, but not in my head, which is weird I know. His price suggests he's up against it but, he's ran well this season, and if this trip is within his range then he could well give you a run for your money at a really big price. Keep an eye on him.


23. Enjoy d'Allen T. Ciaran Murphy J. Connor Orr Ell's verdict: Each way.

For me, this horse doesn't carry any negatives to him, and could well be this year's surprise package who slips under the radar. I've not seen enough from him yet to suggest he's a certain contender, but I think it's stupid to rule him out entirely and he holds each way claims at the very least.


24. Anibale Fly T. Tony Martin J. Luke Dempsey Ell's verdict: No.

Consistent and has plenty of star quality, but I think his best days are behind him now, and he's only here to challenge for the places as far as I'm concerned and that could be a difficult task. He's similar to Santini and Blaklion though so, don't rule out the fact that he'll be staying on up to the line.


25. Dingo Dollar T. Sandy Thomson J. Ryan Mania Ell's verdict: No.

I don't think this horse has many questions to answer, apart from the fact as to whether he's good enough to win this. His jockey won this at big odds back in 2013 so there's nothing to rule out history repeating itself.


26. Freewheelin Dylan T. Dermot McLoughlin J. Ricky Doyle Ell's verdict: No.

Won the Irish National last year at 150/1, another who will stay all day, and I think out of all the horses in the field I would really love him to rock up here and win this the most. There's just a fantastic story behind it all and is the reason why we all love this game so, I've popped him down as no but my heart is saying give him a chance at each way at least.


27. Class Conti T. Willie Mullins J. Sam Twiston-Davies Ell's verdict: No.

Finished 15th last year, but that's not really anything special that stands out and he hasn't done much to shout about since then either so, I don't think this is the race for him.

28. Noble Yeats T. Emmet Mullins J. Sam Waley-Cohen Ell's verdict: No.

A final ride in the race for Sam Waley-Cohen who will retire immediately afterwards, but this horse has plenty on his plate to make it a fairytale ending.


29. Mighty Thunder T. Lucinda Russell J. Derek Fox Ell's verdict: No.

He's exactly the same as Dingo Dollar, the only question that I can ask of him is whether he is good enough to win this, and at the moment, I don't think he is.


30. Cloth Cap T. Jonjo O'Neill J. Tom Scudamore Ell's verdict: No.

As far as I'm concerned, he came into this race last year in smashing form and didn't deliver, I don't think he quite stays this far and I won't be selecting him for it this time around, although I would love to see him run well.


31. Snow Leopardess T. Charlie Longsdon J. Aidan Coleman Ell's verdict: Yes.

This horse throws no negatives at me, it's as simple as that. She'll run her heart out and would be a worthy winner of the race, especially after everything she has been through. I hope she runs like we know she can.


32. Agusta Gold T. Willie Mullins J. Danny Mullins Ell's verdict: No.

Would be a fitting winner with the Masters being on, but I think that this is well out of her reach unfortunately, back her for the relevance though.


33. Phoenix Way T. Harry Fry J. Kevin Brogan Ell's verdict: No.

I don't think he's capable of causing the placings any problems either and I'm more than happy to rule him out.


34. Deise Aba T. Philip Hobbs J. Tom O'Brien Ell's verdict: No.

Very risky to back with his form that suggest he pulls up more times than he finishes as of late, but who knows, everything might well click for him and he could make it all the way round and smuggle his way into the placings.


35. Blaklion T. Dan Skelton J. Harry Skelton Ell's verdict: Each way.

One of the old timers in the race who was sixth in the race last year, travelling well up to two out before not having the legs to go with much younger rivals. A 13-year-old who sure does not know his age, and he's also won two veterans' races this campaign so, he's impossible to rule out, even though he's probably going to find one or two others too good again.


36. Poker Party T. Henry de Bromhead J. Robbie Power Ell's verdict: No.

Just another horse which isn't for me unfortunately. Has not shown much this season and I don't think he will turn it around in this race.


37. Death Duty T. Gordon Elliott J. Jordan Gainford Ell's verdict: No.

Not a complete write off, but has work to do compared to some others in the field. Has a nice enough weight to compete, but just needs to put his best foot forward again here.


38. Domaine De L'isle T. Sean Curran J. Harry Bannister Ell's verdict: No.

Very much up against it in this field, and I don't think the bookies will be too worried about his big price giving them any sleepless nights.


39. Eclair Surf T. Emma Lavelle J. Tom Bellamy Ell's verdict: Yes.

Fits the profile after having just snuck in to the race, and he is very very dangerous indeed, and holds at least an each way chance. Another one for the ever growing shortlist that will soon be narrowed down.


40. Fortescue T. Henry Daly J. Hugh Nugent Ell's verdict: Each way.

He also managed to sneak into the race, and I believe that he also holds live each way claims, after a good win at Ascot last time, and he's also on a very competitive mark still.

Final Verdict

For this year I'm going to pick six horses in the race for you as my selections. Three that are available at a big price that you can back and have fun watching, two which are slightly shorter and should be more than capable of getting placed, and the one horse I believe has the best chance of them all. My three big picks are Discorama, available at 40/1, mainly because he ran very well for a long way in the race last year and seems to have prepared even better for it this time. My next one is Blaklion at 50/1 and actually lets make that four picks because I'll throw his other old mate Santini in as well at 40/1 because they'll more than happily plod around Aintree for four miles. My last one is Top Ville Ben at 80/1, and even though he's down as a no in the piece itself, he's a massive price, and could well just pop up and surprise people here so, he's my last pick at a big price. The next two for me are the current favourite, Snow Leopardess, 17/2, because I think she will at the very least be capable of getting a place here, and Longhouse Poet at 22/1 because this kind of contest could be well within his reach. The main selection for me though this time in the race is Fiddlerontheroof, 16/1. Since that day when he won at Carlisle, I've never took my eyes off him, and I think that there's not one problem at all that jumps out to me that could stop him from winning this. He stays, he jumps, and I would be really disappointed if he didn't get in the placings.


As always though, don't follow me if you have any fancies of your own, it's just my opinion at the end of the day, and I'm just putting it out there for everyone to see and read so. The most important thing is that all runners and riders come back safe and sound, and let's hope it's another fantastic contest. Stay safe, enjoy the race, and hopefully you found this blog piece useful as always, even if it ends up producing no winner!


69 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page